New Zealand vs Bangladesh: TV umpire Chris Gaffaney overruled the ‘soft signal in Tamim Iqbal favors on the grounds that while the catch was taken cleanly Kyle Jamieson was not in complete control of the ball.
Tamim Iqbal made 78 and led Bangladesh to 271 for 6 vs New Zealand. (Twitter Photo)
- Kyle Jamieson took a return catch from Tamim on 34
- The on-field umpire immediately upheld New Zealand’s appeal
- The third umpire overruled the soft signal and deemed Tamim not-out
Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal survived a controversial caught and bowled decision as the third umpire overruled the soft signal in his favour during the 2nd ODI against New Zealand on Tuesday.
The incident happened in the 15th over of Bangladesh’s innings when Tamim was batting on 34. Tamim offered a sharp return chance to the tall New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson. Jamieson stooped on his follow-through to parcel the catch, then fell forward. As he did so, the ball held in his right hand touched the ground.
The on-field umpire immediately upheld New Zealand’s appeal but Tamim referred the decision to the television umpire who, after studying several angles, ruled that Jamieson did not have full control of the ball. TV umpire Chris Gaffaney overruled the ‘soft signal on the grounds that while the catch was taken cleanly Jamieson was not in complete control of the ball as he fell to the ground and the ball grazed the pitch.
Moving to the match, skipper Tom Latham led from the front with an unbeaten century as New Zealand beat Bangladesh by five wickets in the second one-dayer on Tuesday to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.
Half-centuries from Tamim Iqbal and Mohammad Mithun had powered Bangladesh to 271-6 after being put into bat at Christchurch’s Hagley Oval. New Zealand wobbled early in their chase but Latham’s 110 not out, his fifth ODI century, helped the hosts reach the target with 10 balls to spare.
The third and final ODI will be played in Wellington on Friday.